Welcome…with food!!

The Quiche BB (before baking)

I have tried blogging before.  But this time, I am committed.  I am committed to sharing my crazy, creative and hectic life with the world.  And, in addition to loving being creative, I love food.  Let’s face it, who doesn’t??  But I have never really photographed food.  Yet, I am dragging my camera around more and more.  So tonight, I took pictures of dinner.  And then, I thought I would write about dinner.  Why?  Well, it came out good.  Really good.  Like, as in my picky-13-year-old-ate-it-good.  It was simple – just a quiche.  I was going to make a Fritatta but found that I had a pie crust in the fridge.  So, it was quiche…and  here is what I did:

1 pie crust (I used the refrigerated one – and only one crust)

16 ounces egg whites (get the 32 ounce carton)

3 extra large  whole eggs

½ cup Half and Half

1 ½ cup shredded Italian cheese blend

1 loose cup of chopped fresh baby spinach

1 cup chopped grilled eggplant and zucchini

plenty of freshly ground black pepper

1 tsp garlic powder

½ cup grated Romano or Parmesan cheese

Parsley flakes

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Lay your crust gently in an ungreased 9 inch pyrex pie plate.  Whisk the eggwhites, eggs and half and half together briskly.  Keep whisking until it becomes frothy and almost peaky.  The eggwhites will give this quiche a lot of “lift”.  GENTLY fold in your remaining ingredients and pour the whole she-bang into the crust.  Top it off with some shakes of parsley, and the grated Romano/Parmesan.  Pop that baby into the oven, and let it bake for about 30-40 minutes.  If the crust begins to get too brown, you can either turn your oven down to 300, or attempt to cover the exposed crust with foil.  I turned my oven down.  You will know your quiche is done when you can move it and the center is no longer “jiggly”.  Turn off the oven, and let it hang out for about 5 minutes, and then take it out and allow it to rest (and you can photograph it like I did).  Then slice, and serve with a nice salad (I used arugula – which is so spunky!), or nestle it next to some fruit.  DE-LISH!

Of course, you can make this with any veggi/cheese combo, or even any meat/cheese combo…or just veggis, or just meat, or pasta, or grits, or whatever the heck else you want to throw in there.

Remember, whether you call it a quiche, or leave the crust out and call it a frittata, you can make this dish a wonderful repository for any leftovers.

The finished Quiche!

Look at the height!

 


Share

One thought on “Welcome…with food!!

Leave a Reply

